Skip to main content

Transfer stations

The Westport and Reefton transfer stations are operated by SmartEnvironmental.

The Westport transfer station is a key facility in the Buller District where recycling from the district is checked, sorted, compacted and stored to be sent to processing plants. All recycling needs to be sent outside the district for reprocessing since the Buller District has no recycling process facilities.

Refuse from zone one is collected at the Westport and Reefton transfer stations to be transported to the Nelson landfill for final disposal.

Please see the price list for disposal costs.

If you want to see what happens once your recycling arrives at the Westport transfer station watch the video below.

Westport Transfer Station

Opening hours

Monday, Wednesday, Friday 9am - 4pm
Tuesday, Thursday CLOSED
Saturday 9am - 4pm
Sunday 9am - 1pm
Public holidays CLOSED

Reefton Transfer Station

Opening hours

Tuesday, Thursday 1pm - 4pm
Monday, Wednesday, Friday CLOSED
Saturday 1pm - 4pm
Sunday 1pm - 4pm
Public holidays CLOSED