Skip to main content


Buller District Council administers four cemeteries in Westport, Mōkihinui, Cronadun and Reefton.

Council cemeteries currently available for interment are:

  • Orowaiti Cemetery – Utopia Road, Westport
  • Mōkihinui Cemetery – Lewis Street, Mōkihinui
  • Reefton Suburban Cemetery – Buller Road, Reefton
  • Boatmans Cemetery – Boatmans Road, Cronadun 
    • Please note, there are only ASH interments available at this cemetery.
  • Karamea Cemetery is run by a Board of Trustees, located – Ōpārara Loop Road, Karamea
  • Karamea Cemetery Site Plan and Register

Some plot numbers in the search database are duplicated (dependant on the year of interment) and therefore when you click on ‘other interments’ it does not necessarily mean that all people listed as ‘other interments’ are buried in the exact same plot.

If you have any queries please contact our Customer Services team on 0800 807 239.

Cemetery burial records for Westport and surrounding areas are held at the Council office on Brougham Street, Westport.

Cemetery records for Reefton are held at the Reefton Service Centre, Broadway, Reefton.

Records for the Lyell Cemeteries are not available online.

Closed cemeteries

The following is a list of closed cemeteries in the Buller District:

  • Middle Orowaiti Cemetery, Utopia Road/State Highway 67, Westport
  • Old Orowaiti Cemetery, State Highway 67, Westport
  • Old Reefton Cemetery, State Highway 69, Buller Road, Reefton
  • Waimangaroa Cemetery, Pottingers Road, Waimangaroa
  • Charleston Cemetery, Cemetery Road, Charleston
  • Inangahua Cemetery, State Highway 69, Inangahua
  • Addisons Flat Cemetery, State Highway 6, Westport
  • Lyell Cemetery, Lyell Creek, State Highway 6
  • Lyell Cemetery, Roadside State Highway 6
You may also be interested in