Skip to main content


There are two landfills in the Buller District – in Karamea and in Maruia. Both are owned by Buller District Council.

The Karamea landfill is operated by Westreef Services Ltd and the Maruia landfill is operated by Council.

These sites serve the local community to dispose of their refuse. Both landfills are classified as municipal landfills (class 1).

This means residents can dispose of household as well as commercial refuse in their local landfill, except, construction and demolition waste, hazardous waste, excavated natural material or refuse from industrial sources.

The two Karamea facilities – the landfill and Karamea Resource Recovery Centre and Disposal Facility – are located at the same address. Both refuse and recycling are accepted there.

Items that can be recycled at the Karamea Resource Recovery Centre and Disposal Facility include:

  • Plastics #1, #2 and #5 (rinsed, clean and lids off)
  • Glass
  • Aluminium tins and cans (rinsed, and cleaned)
  • Vehicle batteries
  • Paint containers
  • Household batteries
  • Oil, transmission fluids and hydraulics (they must be clean and dropped off in containers no larger than 20 litres)

Note, cardboard cannot be recycled in Karamea (standard refuse charges apply).

See fees and charges for the details on pricing and our recycling guidelines for each recycling zone.

  • Days of operation: Wednesday, Friday and Sunday
  • Hours of operation: 9.00am - 1.00pm

Refuse can be dropped off at the Maruia landfill during opening hours. You can pay in cash only.

There is no recycling facility in Maruia. Residents need to take their recycling to the Reefton Transfer Station where plastics #1, #2 and #5, cardboard, paper, aluminium tins and glass are accepted if rinsed, cleaned, and checked.

Queries about refuse and recycling in Maruia should go to Buller District Council phone 0800 807 239.

  • Days of operation: Thursday
  • Hours of operation: 1.00pm - 2.30pm

How does waste management work in Buller?

The Buller District is divided into three zones for recycling and refuse. Each of these zones has specific guidelines for recycling and refuse.

Zone one* covers Westport, the areas from Westport to the Mokihinui Bridge, Westport to Punakaiki, Westport to Reefton including Blacks Point, and Reefton to Ikamatua.

Zone two is the Karamea area, from north of the Mokihinui Bridge.

Zone three is beyond Blacks Point including Springs Junction and Maruia.

Residents in zones two and three must dispose of their waste and recycling by dropping it off at the appropriate site. There is no kerbside collection.

There are no landfills in Westport and Reefton. Refuse from zone one is collected at the Westport and Reefton transfer stations and taken to the Nelson landfill for final disposal.

Video: what happens with your recycling at the Westport transfer station

Buller solid waste management

Council’s facilities will operate with reduced hours over the Christmas break between 23 December 2022 and 4 January 2023.

During this time residents can raise a service request or notify urgent issues through Council’s 0800 807 239 number.

Recycling and refuse will be collected over the Christmas break as usual.

  Westport Transfer Station
Friday 23 Dec 9am - 4pm
Saturday 24 Dec 9am - 4pm
Sunday 25 Dec CLOSED
Monday 26 Dec CLOSED
Tuesday 27 Dec CLOSED
Wednesday 28 Dec 9am - 4pm
Thursday 29 Dec CLOSED
Friday 30 Dec 9am - 4pm
Saturday 31 Dec 9am - 4pm
Sunday 1 Jan CLOSED
Monday 2 Jan CLOSED
Tuesday 3 Jan CLOSED
Wednesday 4 Jan 9am - 4pm