Buller District Council

Transfer stations

The Westport and Reefton transfer stations are operated by SmartEnvironmental. The Westport transfer station is a key facility in the Buller District where recycling from the district is checked, sorted, compacted and stored to be sent to processing plants. All recycling needs to be sent outside the district for reprocessing since the Buller District has no recycling process facilities.

Refuse from zone one is collected at the Westport and Reefton transfer stations to be transported to the Nelson landfill for final disposal.

If you want to see what happens once your recycling arrives at the Westport transfer station watch the video below.

Opening hours

Westport Hours: Reefton Hours: 
Monday, Wednesday, Friday 9.00 am-4.00 pmTuesday & Thursday1.00pm - 4.00pm
Tuesday and Thursday CLOSED
Saturday9.00 am - 4.00 pmSaturday1.00pm - 4.00pm
Sunday9.00 am - 1.00 pmSunday1.00pm - 4.00pm
All Public HolidaysCLOSEDAll Public HolidaysCLOSED

We will also have notifications of changes to normal operating times on our website at the appropriate time.

Fees and charges


Westport Transfer Station

Reefton Transfer Station



Live Cam