Skip to main content

Te Tai o Poutini Plan (District Plan)

Te Tai o Poutini Plan (TTPP) is the combined proposed District Plan for the Buller, Grey and Westland District Councils. It will replace the current individual district plans.

The Te Tai o Poutini Plan (TTPP) will affect every person on the West Coast as it covers important things like power and communications infrastructure networks, ensuring there is sufficient land for business and housing development, avoiding or mitigating natural hazards, maintaining indigenous biological diversity, and controlling noise and subdivision.

The Te Tai O Poutini Committee consulted on the Te Tai o Poutini Proposed Plan between July – November 2022 to help make the right decisions for the future of the coast.

A total of 534 submissions were lodged on the plan with over 15,000 submission points. These submissions have now been summarised.

The TTPP Proposed Plan and submissions are available to view online at

Printed copies of the plan are available from Buller District Council, Westport and Reefton Libraries, Karamea Information Centre, Ngakawau Resource Centre, and the Paparoa Visitor Centre at Punakaiki.

Find out more about the Te Tai o Poutini Plan

Every district in New Zealand must have a working plan. The plans need to identify community values and how to achieve them by managing where and how services are delivered, and how resources are used.

In 2015 some members of the West Coast community asked the Local Government Commission to look at options for streamlining the local councils.

The Commission ran a collaborative process with the four West Coast councils, looking at their current systems and options to improve them.

In 2018 the Local Government Commission released its proposal for local government reorganisation on the West Coast. The Local Government Commission recommended: Transferring the statutory obligations for preparing district plans from the three West Coast district councils to the West Coast Regional Council.

Delegating these obligations to a joint committee comprising all four councils and local iwi, with an independent chair. This means that, rather than each of the three District Councils preparing individual plans, Te Tai o Poutini Plan Committee is now responsible for preparing and approving a new combined district plan covering the whole of the West Coast.

Te Tai o Poutini Plan Committee is a joint committee made up of the four West Coast Councils and local iwi. It is comprised of the Mayor or Chair and one other Councillor from each council, and one representative each from Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Waewae and Te Rūnanga o Makaawhio.

It is chaired by an independent chairperson. The Committee has full decision-making powers, and the make-up of the Committee ensures each district has equal input and voting rights on what goes in the Plan.

Produced quarterly, Te Tai o Poutini Plan news provides the latest information to keep partners and stakeholders up to date with progress on the combined district plan.

How can I find out more?

If you need more information about the process or have any questions about the plan, or next steps you can get in touch by emailing or call.

Agendas and minutes