Skip to main content

Westport Rating District Joint Committee might stay on

27 Sep 2022

Council will make a call if the Westport Rating District Joint Committee (the Joint Committee) will stay on after the local body elections at its full council meeting this week.

Deputy chief executive officer Rachel Townrow says: “This is a procedural step that enables the Joint Committee to continue their important work in relation to Westport’s flood protection.”

Council and West Coast Regional Council (WCRC) formed the Joint Committee to review technical advice and make recommendations to the regional council on the best options for the $10.2million flood protection project for Westport.

Ms Townrow says: “If this step wasn’t taken, the Joint Committee would automatically be dissolved following the election in October and would have to be re-established.”

Council has worked closely with the WCRC on the establishment and operation of the Joint Committee over the last two years.

Ms Townrow says: “The Joint Committee is involved in many important and time sensitive projects like the Kawatiri Business Case and it is important for our community that their work continues undisturbed.”

The Local Government Act 2002 requires that, unless council resolves otherwise, all committees and subcommittees are deemed to be disestablished once the members of the newly elected council come into office.


The Joint Committee consist out of three elected councillors appointed by WCRS, two councillors are from Buller and one councillor is the chair of the WCRC.

The Buller District Council’s mayor is part of the Joint Committee, as well as two other Buller District Council elected members.

Te Rūnanga O Ngāti Waewae is represented through the chair of Te Rūnanga O Ngāti Waewae or a representative. Waka Kotahi NZ Transport Agency has one seat on the Joint Committee as well.

WCRC and Buller District Council appoints two community members following a call for nominations. Hugh McMillan is currently the independent chair of the Joint Committee.


For more information please contact:

Deputy chief executive officer
Rachel Townrow