Buller District Council

Ngāti Waewae to vote

27th May, 2021

Ngāti Waewae will have voting rights on Buller District Council’s committees from 1 July 2021.

At its meeting on Wednesday (26 May), council resolved that one representative from Ngāti Waewae will vote on decisions that are made at its four committees. Representation will be shared by Francois Tumahai and Ned Tauwhare.

Iwi representation Ned Tauwhare says he is delighted with the outcome of the meeting.

“The tautoko of Councillors, Mayor Jamie, and chief executive officer Sharon Mason is appreciated.”

Current law states that only elected members can vote at full Council meetings.

Buller District Mayor Jamie Cleine says the development is another step to strengthening an already strong relation with Ngāti Waewae.

“It seems a logical next step within the parameters of the Local Govt Act 2002 to give Ngāti Waewae voting on committees.

We appreciate what Ned and Francois bring to the table and I look forward to their continued input to help us shape our district.”

For more information please contact
Mayor Jamie Cleine


Live Cam