Buller District Council


New Zealand is a democratic country in which the members of parliament (MPs) and local bodies (Mayors and Councillors) are chosen in free and fair elections. Citizens and permanent residents who are aged 18 years and over are required to enrol to vote, though voting is not compulsory.

New Zealand has a single chamber of parliament which consists of the House of Representatives, which generally has 120 MPs, and the Governor-General (who does not personally attend the house). The house is elected for a maximum three-year term using the mixed member proportional (MMP) system. The next general election is scheduled to take place in 2017.

New Zealand also has sub-national elected government bodies including territorial local authorities, district health boards and school boards of trustees. Local body elections are also held every three years.

2019 Local Body Election

2019 Elections elected members protocols (220Kb)
2019 Elections staff protocols (362Kb)

Pre-Election Report (3.75Mb)


Previous Council Elections

The 3-yearly elections for the various local and ad hoc authorities were held in October 2016. Members were elected using the First Past the Post (FPP) method, ie the highest number of votes wins.

The Following members make up the Buller District Council from October 2016 to October 2019:

Mayor: Garry Howard

Seddon Ward: Martin Hill (replaced 17 February 2018 by Rosalie Sampson) and Emily Miagza

Westport Ward: Shayne Barry, Jamie Cleine, Greg Hart, Robyn Nahr, Phil Rutherford and Sharon Roche

Inangahua Ward: Dave Hawes and Graeme Neylon

Inangahua Community Board:  Simon Burke, Susan Barnett, Alun Bollinger, Ina Lineham

Buller representatives for the West Coast Regional Council are Neal Clementson and Terry Archer

The Buller representative for Development West Coast is Brent Oldham

Candidate election returns are available for inspection at Council’s Westport Office


 To check or update your Enrolment details click below:

Enrol Image

Contact the Electoral Officer

For further information please direct all enquiries to the Electoral Officer:

Phone: 03 788 9111
Fax: 03 788 8041
Email: info@bdc.govt.nz

In person:

Brougham House,
6-8 Brougham Street,

By post:

Electoral Officer,
Buller District Council,
PO Box 21,
Westport 7866

Live Cam